need a crunchy snack fix?

Roasted chickpeas … sounds weird yes, but they’re satisfyingly crunchy, highly customizable and compared to most other snack food items they’re relatively guilt free! I saw recipes for these all over the internet and knew it was something I was going to have to try my hand at. Oh I can’t believe I waited as long as I did!

My favorite way to flavor the little legumes is with Old Bay. As anyone who enjoys the experience of picking Maryland Blue Crabs understands, I can’t get enough of that combo of spices.

Roasted Chickpeas

Super easy and positive to cure any chip craving. You need

1 or 2 15 oz. cans chickpeas (garbanzo beans) if you’re making these for more than one person, I’d go with two cans                                                                               1 – 2 tablespoons olive oil                                                                                                    a little quality sea salt                                                                                                            Old Bay Seasoning to taste

1.) Preheat the oven to 400 degrees                                                                               2.) Rinse and drain the chickpeas really well                                                                 3.) In a bowl mix together the chickpeas, olive oil and a bit of salt                         4.) Transfer the beans to a cookie sheet, make sure to spread them out in a single layer (you can line it with tin foil for easy clean-up, but it will work without it.)     5.) Sprinkle with Old Bay                                                                                                 6.) Roast in the oven anywhere from 30-60 minutes (will depend on your oven and how well you drained them in the first place.)  Stir every 15 minutes or so.       7.) Give them another sprinkling of Old Bay                                                                 8.) ENJOY!

And if you’re not a fan of Old Bay, DO NOT FRET, flavor these any way you want. Just do a Google search for roasted chickpeas and a plethora of ideas will appear. I especially like this list I found on The Kitchn. I’ve also tried a Cajun Spice Blend and a cinnamon and brown sugar combo so far. For my next batch I want to try sesame oil, a little Sriracha and sesame seeds for a little Asian flavor. I’ll post the results of that soon!

Has anyone else tried making these? I’m open to any flavor suggestions 🙂

Leave a Reply

