The Food Matters Project: Chipotle-Glazed Squash Skewers

First of all, I need to recommend this book.

Food MattersMark Bittman probably has one of the most sane voices you will come across when it comes to healthy eating. I say sane because he would never tell me to swear off bacon. He would just tell me that I should use less of it, and that I would probably still be satisfied.

Food Matters is Mark Bittman’s approach and reasoning for a more veggie-centric diet. I am certainly not here to tell you that you should adopt any sort of diet, but after reading his book and watching a few documentaries about our food system I am certainly trying to take a closer look at what I am choosing to put in my own mouth.

Food is a huge part of my life. It has the power to change my mood, it allows me to express myself and most importantly it’s fuel. I can feel the difference when most of my meals come from fruits, veggies, whole grains, and non-animal proteins but sometimes a girl just needs a bacon cheeseburger from Wags. And Mr. Bittman’s approach to food is very similar.

Now why am I rambling about this? Well first of all I think his book is a great read for anyone who’s been intrigued by all of the press around the current food system or anyone interested in a more plant based diet without the fear of having to turn to full-fledged vegetarianism or veganism. Second of all I just got my hands on a copy of the accompanying cookbook and have joined forced with some other like-minded bloggers to cook our way through some of the recipes. Starting today I am taking part in the Food Matters Project.

Food Matters ProjectWhat this means for you is that you can expect something new and tasty here every Monday that when possible will highlight some of Frederick’s own food growers, producers and/or sellers. Shopping locally matters too. The recipes will be mostly (but not completely) veggie based, but have been approved by eaters of all persuasions.

This week’s recipe is Chipotle-Glazed Squash Skewers. For the full recipe, go visit Sarah of 20something Cupcakes. She is actually one of the very wise women who thought up the FMP. And as this is a blog project you can check out how the rest of the FMP members choose to prepare this recipe here.

Skewers on baking traySkewers and arugulaI cooked these up yesterday to take to work for lunches this week. Here the skewers are pictured with a little arugula but I am planning to serve the veggies with some quinoa to round out the meal.

3 responses to “The Food Matters Project: Chipotle-Glazed Squash Skewers

  1. Yum, they look great. Such a great lunch option when paired with greens and grains! 🙂

  2. Those look fabulous! Isn’t this a fun project? I can’t wait to see what we all cook up throughout the weeks.

    • Thanks! I only just got the cookbook today, so I didn’t even know about the miso-glaze option, but your appetizer skewers look absolutely delicious! I agree though, this is definitely going to be fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

