The Food Matters Project: Seasoned Popcorn

Seasoned Popcorn Recipe PageOK, put the movie theater-extra butter-extra salt-prepackaged popcorn back on the grocery store shelf. You can make even better popcorn in the comfort of your own home. Who knew right? I can’t believe I didn’t know how easy it was until last week. Kate over at Cookie + Kate has all the recipe details for you over on her blog.

Popping kernels can usually be found in the same aisle of the grocery store as prepackaged popcorn.  I picked mine up from The Common Market (the local food co-op in Frederick, MD.)

I probably went a little overboard, but I tried three different seasoning variations for you. I would absolutely make all of them again. (I’m going to have to, as all three of these batches are already gone. ;-))

All three popcorn variationsButter Olive Oil and Truffle SaltThis first variation was Butter Olive Oil and Truffle Salt. Butter olive oil is actually made from crushing black olives. It is 100% natural olive oil but its creamy, buttery taste makes it a great substitute for butter. It can even be solidified in the refrigerator/freezer and used as a spread. Mine is from a local oil & vinegar store, Lebherz Olive Oil & Vinegar Emporium. The truffle salt is from O & Co. I picked it up on a trip to New York City a few weeks ago. This was some flavorful popcorn. You can create this gourmet taste with just one tablespoon of the butter olive oil, 1/4 teaspoon regular salt and about 1/8-1/4 teaspoon of truffle salt (per 1/4 cup un-popped kernels.)

Chili Olive Oil and SaltChili Popcorn close upVariation #2 was flavored with some Chili Infused Olive Oil (also from O & Co.)and salt. Again just about a tablespoon of flavored olive oil and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Expect some some spice with this one :-).

Old Bay PopcornOld Bay Popcorn Close UpAnd last but not least, I made Old Bay popcorn. This was a suggestion offered by Mr. Bittman, but as a Maryland-bred gal I can say I’ve been dousing my popcorn in Old Bay for as long as I can remember. At least now the Old Bay can take center stage. Once your popcorn is done popping, simply sprinkle liberally to taste. You may however, want to consider keeping the spice blend handy as you enjoy your popcorn because you’ll probably discover you could use some more.

These are just a few ideas to get you started on your personal popcorn popping journey. For even more ideas, make sure to check out all of the seasoning ideas the other members of The Food Matters Project came up with.

6 responses to “The Food Matters Project: Seasoned Popcorn

  1. I’ll have to try my popcorn truffled next time!

  2. I love everyone’s different take on this popcorn! That butter olive oil sounds amazing…I don’t think I’ll be able to find that in Japan, but hopefully once we get back to the States I can get my hands on some!

  3. Old Bay on almost anything is fantastic! I have a huge mason jar full of Old Bay and have never thought to add it to popcorn. I am definitely doing this (after adding garlic, fresh herbs, curry and 9074 of the other fantastic ideas everyone has had!).

    • I heartily agree with that statement. I can’t not have it in the house, and have been known to take it with me when I travel haha. And I feel ya, my head is swimming with future popcorn toppings now too.

  4. Three fabulous variations, love it! I’m going to look for truffle salt and butter olive oil during my next trip to the gourmet store.

  5. So many good options! The truffle salt and butter is a total weakness of mine. And Old Bay is on my to-try list. Yummmmm =)

Leave a Reply

