Tuesday Night Dinners: Pretzel Crusted Chicken

Still don’t know what to make a special someone for dinner tonight? (It’s Valentine’s Day, hopefully you remembered.) No special someone? Make yourself a nice meal darn it! 🙂 This is a meal fit for any occasion. And what says love more than Maple Bacon Roasted Brussels Sprouts?

Pretzel Crusted Chicken, Mushroom Sage Roasted Potatoes, Maple Bacon Roasted Brussels SproutsOn the menu: Roasted Garlic Onion Pretzel Crusted Chicken (yes that’s a mouthful), Mushroom Sage Roasted Potatoes and Maple Bacon Roasted Brussels Sprouts.

The chicken was inspired by this recipe found on the McCutcheon’s Blog. I wish I had, had some McCutcheon’s Vidalia Onion Mustard on hand to make this exact recipe, but I substituted some Roasted Garlic Onion Jam that a friend gave me for Christmas from Firestone’s Market on Market. My fellow diners and I were very pleased with the final product.

Roasted Onion Garlic Jam Pretzel Crusted Chicken

On the side I tossed some fingerling potatoes in about 1 1/2 tablespoons Mushroom Sage Olive Oil from Lebherz Oil & Vinegar Emporium and a little salt. I then roasted them in a 400 degree oven (same as the chicken) until golden and slightly crispy. If you have some, toss the potatoes with some freshly torn sage just prior to serving.

Mushroom Sage Roasted Potatoes

I also served some Maple Bacon Roasted Brussels Sprouts on the side. I am a fairly new convert to Brussels Sprouts, my mother never served them when I was growing as they apparently terrorized her childhood. They are quickly growing on me however. I followed this recipe and they were so good I made them again the next night and enjoyed them (the whole pound ;-)) for dinner.

Maple Bacon Roasted Brussels Sprouts

This is a meal full of comforting, sweet and savory flavors. It comes together fairly quickly and it’s not too heavy so you’ll still feel like some dessert (wink wink) later on. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

