Roasted Red Pepper, Parmesan & White Bean Dip

If the recipes from weeks 1 and 2 of The Food Matters Project haven’t convinced you to pick up your own copy of the Food Matters Cookbook, I am sure this one will. Heather selected this week’s recipe for Roasted Red Pepper and Walnut Pesto, which you can find on her blog girlichef.

Red Peppers pre roasting

As you can tell from the title of this post, I didn’t quite follow the original recipe. Mr. Bittman provided several variations (which he does for nearly every recipe). Roasted Red Pepper and White Bean Dip made an excellent late lunch/early dinner appetizer on Sunday afternoon. The boyfriend and I were in Pittsburgh, PA for the weekend catching up with some of his friends and celebrating his Dad’s birthday. (He’s originally from the ‘burgh.) So while I was already excited to make this recipe, I was going to get to feed it to a small crowd.

Serving of roasted red pepper and white bean dip

My diners could not believe the simplicity of the ingredients used to create a dip this flavorful and fresh. (In my variation I used a little more garlic than called for, Parmesan cheese and fresh sage instead of basil.) And as the four of us ate our way through an entire baguette and half a box of flat bread crackers moving dip from bowl to mouth I explained the genius behind the Food Matters Cookbook. Simple, delicious dishes that make eating well (for yourself and the planet) easy and enjoyable.

Red Pepper and White Bean Dip

You get a lot of dip with this recipe, and while I deemed this a dip for our purposes yesterday I know its going to make a great sandwich spread and pasta topper as I make my way through the leftovers this week.

another red pepper and white bean dip shot

Heather certainly chose well. But I’m positive she could have picked any other recipe from the Food Matters Cookbook and I would be singing its praises as well. To see how much all of the other FMP bloggers enjoyed this recipe, head over here.

8 responses to “Roasted Red Pepper, Parmesan & White Bean Dip

  1. I loved the pepper without adding enything—even basil, but the addition of white beans and sage sounds really delicious!

  2. So far I’ve kept mine vegan but I’m totally adding cheese tomorrow. Love your variations, I wouldn’t have thought to add sage!

  3. Love the use of parmesan… I’m sure it gave more flavor. I actually wish I added some to mine after I read about how some people added parm to theirs.

  4. I definitely had to actually physically restrain myself from eating all of the dip! I love your changes. Sage sounds like such an interesting addition.

  5. Sage sounds delicious! What a great treat for everyone!

  6. Awesome! I’m so happy to hear that it went over so well. I’m definitely going to try making the dip one of these days, too. Great photos…I’m hungry all over again 🙂

  7. Sounds delish with the sage and parmesan!

Leave a Reply

