Rain was not going to stop us

Dripping Rita's Flags

Rita's CupThis is completely selfish, but I could not have been more grateful that Rita’s opened on Leap Day. That extra day sure threw me for a loop and a Rita’s Gelati was the perfect thing to help me start to forget about the saga of my MacBook. (That and then a couple of drafts from Brewer’s Alley :-).)

Two Gelati's to go

I was also really happy to help support a local charity with my need for comfort food. Rita’s was LEAPing into Action and donating all of their day’s proceeds to three local charities including Lily’s Hope, The Frederick Rescue Mission and Jeffy’s Field.

Flavor Board

After tasting both of the new cheesecake flavors (oh they are so good) I went with a black cherry cheesecake gelati with swirl custard, the boyfriend went with a strawberry colada gelati with vanilla custard and we donated our seven dollars and change to The Frederick Rescue Mission.

Taste TestSome new flavors

I really was planning  to visit Rita’s after work all along, my reasons simply increased as the day progressed. Huge kudos to all the other folks who braved the weather yesterday for delicious frozen treats and worthy charities. It is things like the incredible generosity of businesses like Rita’s of Frederick, MD and the determination of other Fredericktonians to support a good cause that make me feel so lucky to call Frederick home. You can check out the results of Rita’s LEAP into Action Fundraiser here.

My gelati saving grace

Leave a Reply

