The Food Matters Project: Spicy Seared Bean Sprouts with Beef and Orange Sesame Sauce

Welcome to another week folks! And welcome to another Monday with a recipe courtesy of The Food Matters Project. I can’t believe this project only started a month ago and we’re already on our fifth recipe! This week, Dominica over at Wine Food Love selected this dish, make sure to head over to her blog for the complete recipe.Toasted Sesame Seeds and Chopped Scallions

I can’t count the number of times the boyfriend and I have planted ourselves on the couch on Sunday night to start to regroup from the weekend and prepare ourselves for the week ahead and just did not feel like cooking. The usual go-to for Sunday night delivery … Chinese. Yeah, not anymore. I pulled this recipe for Seared Bean Sprouts with Beef and Orange Sesame Sauce together in less time than any delivery driver could ever make it to either of our apartments. Not to mention the difference in freshness and taste that results from good ingredients and serving food made right in your own kitchen.

Seared Bean Sprouts with Beef and Orange Sesame Sauce

I added a tablespoon of Sriracha to the orange, soy sauce, and honey mixture to give the sauce a bit of heat and per Mr. Bittman’s suggestion, I served our sesame beef and sprouts over some soba noodles. I know the rest of the FMP members had lots of delicious takes on this recipe (they always do), and you can check those out here.

Close-up bean sprouts and beef

9 responses to “The Food Matters Project: Spicy Seared Bean Sprouts with Beef and Orange Sesame Sauce

  1. There are defintiely times when I go to order food in and realize that it’ll take longer for them to deliver than it will for me to just make something myself! This meal is definitely perfect for that!

  2. Sriracha makes everything better!!! I added some red pepper flakes to balance out the honey and orange as well.

  3. Adding some heat is a great idea. I used the soba noodles also and it worked beautifully.

  4. Yes, Sriracha… now we’re talkin’… and I’ve got leftovers too!

  5. I had Sriracha, why did I not think of adding some in? Got leftovers, totally doing that tonight!

Leave a Reply

