My weekend needs a weekend

I’m sorry, I should have another delicious recipe from Mr. Bittman to tell you about today, but I wasn’t home at all this weekend. Luckily there are all of the other wonderful bloggers of The Food Matters Project that can cover for me this week ;-). Joanne from Eats Well With Others selected Curried Tomato Soup with Hard-Boiled Eggs and judging by the reactions of all those who made this week’s recipe, I missed a good one. (Good thing I have the cookbook haha.)

I know I was a little absent last week and I wish I could promise you that this week will be better. But next week. Next week things should return to somewhat normal at the office and I will have lots and lots of tasty things to share.

So for now I thought I’d share a few shots from this past weekend, which I spent down the road in Washington, DC. I ran the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon in the city on Saturday morning and then enjoyed a lot of some St. Patrick’s Day libations at The Mighty Pint with the boyfriend and a friend of his who came down from Pittsburgh. We spent Sunday around Tysons Corner shopping and celebrating my Grandfather’s 80th Birthday at Maggiano’s. It was a lot of good stuff packed into two too-short days.

Friday night dinner wine Barnard & Griffin Cabernet Sauvignon

Barnard & Griffin Cabernet Sauvignon to wash down all of the carbs I consumed at dinner. (I was preparing for 13.1 miles haha.)

Brushetta at La Tomate

Bruschetta at La Tomate in DC

Battle scars from my first (and hopefully last) Half-Marathon trip

The battle scar on my knee from my first (and hopefully last) Half-Marathon fall

The battle scar on my hand from my first (and hopefully last) Half-Marathon fall

Can't go to Tysons Corner and not stop at the Lost Dog Cafe for Pizza and Beer. Yes, we stopped and brought our take-out all the way back to Frederick. So worth it!

Polynesian pizza from Lost Dog Cafe

Polynesian pizza from Lost Dog Cafe. Homemade tomato sauce, shrimp, hickory ham, pineapple, bacon and extra cheese.

Cheese Steak Pizza from Lost Dog Cafe

Cheese Steak Pizza. Thinly sliced top round with sauteed onions and green peppers in a garlic sauce smothered in mozzarella cheese.

Leave a Reply

