The Food Matters Project: Vegetables au Vin with Coq

Vegetables au Vin with CoqWhew! I’m back friends, sorry to kind of keep you hanging last week. A 28-hour work day will sincerely throw you off. It meant things like cooking (cleaning) and spending time on the interwebs had to be put on the back burner until last Friday. But after this weekend I feel like my kitchen and I are plenty reacquainted, especially after cooking up this week’s Food Matters Project recipe.

Evi & Sam from Fifth Floor Kitchen so brilliantly chose this week’s recipe of Vegetables au Vin with Coq and you can get the recipe in its entirety over on their blog. I’d never made traditional Coq au Vin (or really anything traditionally French) before this week but I’ll certainly be keeping this method of cooking veggies and meat in my back pocket.

This recipe took a little longer to prepare than some of the other FMP dishes, but the results were more than worth it. First of all my entire apartment smelled of cooked bacon, fragrant red wine and thyme for most of Sunday afternoon. The boyfriend was very impressive as he patiently waited for our dinner to be done with all of those scents wafting about. Second, it was just plain delicious. The veggies became almost velvety after being browned and cooked down in the red wine. The chicken was very tasty too, but as so many of Mr. Bittman’s recipes have proven, meat doesn’t have to be the star. I served this stew over a few slices of several-days old French white bread, but could see the veggies working wonderfully over some brown rice or quinoa too.

I didn’t really play around with this week’s recipe, but make sure to check out how all of the other FMP bloggers chose to make their Vegetables au Vin here.

8 responses to “The Food Matters Project: Vegetables au Vin with Coq

  1. I loved this recipe too! I thought it took more time also, but I think with a few steps done earlier in the day, it can be a geat weeknight dinner. Happy cooking to you.

    • Great idea prepping ahead of time to make this meal weeknight manageable. I definitely want to be able to make this whenever I get a craving for rich, luscious vegetables 🙂

  2. 28 hour work day!? You’re putting me to shame. I agree, this was definitely a longer time frame as compared to the dishes we’ve done so far. More of a Sunday type of meal.

    • It was a perfect Sunday meal. And that 28 hour work day is a once in a blue-moon occurrence (probably more like every other blue moon haha) hopefully it will be awhile before another project gets down to the wire like that.

  3. I had leftovers today too 🙂 Just as good the second time around!

  4. I roasted the chicken the first time I served it and served the veggies separate. The next day, I just put them all together in a skillet and the chicken magically changed into something just melt-in-your-mouth wonderful with all the good sauce!

  5. I thought this was really good and you are right, it was just as good without the chicken.

  6. I’m so glad you enjoyed this! And yes, you are not missing out by having the original recipe, I definitely enjoyed this one much much better!

Leave a Reply

