Boozy Banana Blog Birthday Muffins

Holy cow alliteration 🙂 and holy cow I can’t believe I bought this URL & wrote my first post on this here webspace just over a year ago. So maybe I wasn’t the best blogger for about the first 10 months of Food & Frederick’s existence, but I like to think I’m starting to get the hang of things now. I hope you have enjoyed following along so far. I know I have become quite accustomed to sharing here. 🙂

As I was reacquainting myself with my kitchen this past weekend, I realized I needed to use up some very, very ripe bananas. I recently purchased Joy the Baker’s new cookbook and one of the first recipes that stood out to me was her Banana Bread (that also happened to have bourbon and chocolate in it). Sounded like a party-worthy recipe to me. For some reason I thought I felt like making frosting and intended on frosting these muffins and turning them into Bourbon Banana Cupcakes. (I figured cupcakes are more like cake, so they’re more celebratory.) But then I got caught up in the first season of Downton Abbey (yes I know I’m a little behind the times ;-)) and I realized these muffins were perfect as is after one bite.

Bourbon Banana Muffins whole

It turns out I’m not the only one who thought this bread sounded magical. The recipe was actually shared over on Cup of Joe last Wednesday. Now, I don’t actually own a normal sized loaf-pan (the other reason I made muffins and yes I realize that’s odd). At the point in the recipe that requires you to actually bake, I just greased a muffin pan, used a little less than 1/4 cup batter per muffin and baked for about 30 minutes. Joy’s recipe is spot-on and you will have some of the best banana bread you’ve ever eaten when you make this.

Bourbon Banana Muffins Bite

Leave a Reply

