The Food Matters Project: Cassoulet with Lots of Vegetables

After a rather over-indulgent weekend, this was the perfect thing to cook for dinner on Sunday night. Veggie-filled and slightly spicy from the Hot Italian Sausage we opted to use, it was just what we needed to begin to reset out systems and prepare for the week ahead. It also gave us something to look forward to today (Monday, boo) … leftovers at lunchtime. cassoulet simmering away in the pot

After the hot hummus experiment from a few weeks ago, I knew I needed to try using dried beans for this cassoulet. It couldn’t have been easier. I followed Mr. Bittman’s suggestion of slowly simmering the beans in plenty of water (page 353). My dry navy beans were fully cooked in just about an hour, no soaking involved.

cassoulet in a bowlBoyfriend was hungry, so I skipped the last step in the recipe that involved chopping up the meat and served us each a sausage with a hefty pile of cooked carrots, celery, leeks and cabbage on top. I was taking the above photo when Rob asked if there would be plenty for leftovers. Two bites in and it got the boyfriend stamp of approval :-).

For the complete recipe (since you should totally make this for dinner sometime this week)  you can head over to Keely’s blog, she’s this week’s host. And for even more inspiration make sure to check out how all of the other Food Matters Project bloggers chose to create this week’s recipe here.

17 responses to “The Food Matters Project: Cassoulet with Lots of Vegetables

  1. I like your version. I need to try cabbage next time.

  2. Sorry for the double post. I thought the first one was lost.

  3. My husband would love this one. Give him spicy sausage and he’s happy. For him the dish wouldn’t be the same without it.

  4. Don’t you love it when your significant other approves?? 🙂

  5. The whole sausage on the plate is awesome! lol

  6. Spicy sausage sounds like the way to go with this dish- it would give it extra flavor! I used dried beans too, I try to soak them the night before, or earlier in the day- gets them cooking faster. Although, I still haven’t figured out exactly how long for each type of bean.

    • The spicy sausage added a little extra to the dish for sure. I’m excited to continue experimenting with dried beans now that I know cooking them from scratch isn’t so scary haha.

      • I try to make the beans from scratch and look what other recipes I can add them in that same week. Sometimes it’s hard to use up a whole pound of them. Supposedly the freeze well, but I have never tried it myself.

  7. I love Cassoulet! It’s a filling winter comfort food. I’ve never thought to use cabbage, so next time I make it, cabbage it is!

    • I’d never had it before yesterday, but it was so good! I know this recipe is going to be in heavy rotation when the colder months make there way around again. And definitely try the cabbage, you will not be disappointed :-).

  8. Oooh… you used cabbage. I was wondering how it would be with that. I love cabbage and would’ve used it too, but I hate cutting it.

  9. How was the cabbage? My market didn’t have any that looked good I wanted to add it!

    • I don’t think I can imagine this dish without it now haha. It was probably my favorite part of the dish. I think I could just cook up an entire pot of cabbage that way and be a pretty happy camper. Thanks for picking this recipe by the way, I really enjoyed trying a little French cooking 🙂

Leave a Reply

