The Food Matters Project: Caramelized Beets with Chickpeas

Aka the biggest cooking experiment I think I’ve made to date. The actual scheduled recipe for this week was Fish Nuggets Braised in Rhubarb Sauce, but alas, fresh rhubarb was no where to be found. Some lovely looking local beets were available though and I figured their inherit sweetness would lend well to the recipe.

You can find the actual recipe in its entirety over on Camilla’s blog. And if my experience with the recipe is any indication, I’m sure the other Food Matters bloggers had some very creative interpretations as well.

So if you’re a fan of beets, I have no doubt you will enjoy this dish. Extra sweet because of the caramel sauce base, spicy from the jalapeno, and a little savory from some salt and chickpeas. I followed Mr. Bittman’s recipe pretty much up until the point of adding the fish. The beets needed a little longer than 10 minutes to get as tender as I wanted, and I simply tossed some cooked chickpeas in at the very end.

Caramelized Beets and a leftover Easter ham sandwich

I enjoyed my first taste of this experiment alongside a sandwich made with leftover Easter ham on Sunday night and I look forward to tossing it on some locally grown red swiss chard for lunch salads this week.

4 responses to “The Food Matters Project: Caramelized Beets with Chickpeas

  1. Great idea to use beets.

  2. I love the beet substitution!

  3. Since rhubarb doesn’t seem to be available anywhere, it’s fun to see what everyone did with this recipe! I love your rendition! I bet it will be awesome with swiss chard 🙂

  4. I’m sorry you had such a hard time finding rhubarb, but it appears you made the best of it. I, too, whipped up something with beets – along with red cabbage, cranberries, and prickly pear juice! I hope, once rhubarb decides to make its appearance in markets, you’ll give it another go.

Leave a Reply

