The Food Matters Project: Pizza

After a highly productive Sunday, there was a serious sense of reward as I pulled a hot, fresh, homemade pizza out of my oven. Eating this pizza in a clean apartment, with all of the laundry put away, made it feel like that much more of an accomplishment.

Asparagus, Pesto & Mozzarella Pizza

I’ve often made pizza at home, but this had to be the best one yet and I’m pretty positive it was the dough. There’s just not a lot you can do to recreate the taste of dough that’s been fermenting for 6-8 hours. I highly recommend giving Mr. Bittman’s pizza dough a shot for your next pizza night. It’s as easy as it could be too, throw all of your ingredients in a bowl in the morning before work (or a day full of cleaning and laundry), mix and let it sit until that evening. Our host this week is Niki and you can get the complete recipe over on her blog, Salt & Pepper.

A slice of Spring pizza

My pizza was simple. Topped with a little quick, homemade tomato sauce, some blanched asparagus, a little spinach pesto and mozzarella cheese. There was some leftover tomato sauce, and it was just so good we spooned a little more over our slices before digging in.

To make the tomato sauce I just threw a combination of roma and cherry tomatoes (what I had available) in my Vitamix with some fresh basil, 4 cloves of garlic (they were smallish and we really like garlic) half a small yellow onion, about a teaspoon of brown sugar and some other random dry herbs. I then let the sauce simmer in a small saucepan for about 30 minutes while I got the rest of the ingredients together.

I’m positive the other FMP project members came up with some amazing ways to top their “Almost Whole Wheat” pizzas. You can check all of them out here.

another shot of the spring pizza

 

 

10 responses to “The Food Matters Project: Pizza

  1. Sometimes a simple blend of pizza toppings is all you really need. I’m craving a margherita pizza after seeing this!

  2. Oooh I love your homemade tomato sauce! I agree that the crust on this pizza was amazing. I can’t wait to experiment more!

  3. Love the asparagus here, I think that will have to be a topping next time we make a pizza…next week? =)

    And a to-do list that’s finished, makes everything always taste 10x better.

  4. I’ve never used asparagus on pizza before but I’m so curious to try it now. I also love the way you cut your pizza into squares. Some people freak out about pizza being cut in squares but I find it rustic.

  5. I know what you mean about a clean house, chores done and a good meal – sounds great!

  6. I agree, eating in a clean home with laundry done makes it that much better! 🙂

  7. It sounds so good with spinach and asparagus. I love all these great vegetable pizzas.

  8. In one of the more recent Bon Appetit issues there is a no-knead pizza dough that rises for 18 hours (overnight). It’s delicious and super easy.

    Love homemade pizza. 🙂

  9. Love the “appetizer” size pieces! Looks like a yummy combination!

Leave a Reply

