The Food Matters Project: Spring Salsa

Hello!! I know I’m really late with this one. Life has just been eating up all of my time these days. I had about two hours of free time last weekend, and I chose to spend it napping after running the Pittsburgh Half Marathon ;-). (By the way, congrats to all of you who ran the Frederick Half Marathon last weekend!)

Alissa chose this week’s recipe for salsa. For the actual recipes provided by Mr. Bittman in his Food Matters Cookbook, head over to her blog, BIG EATS … tiny kitchen. For lots more salsa inspiration, head over to The Food Matters website. There are 25+ variations from the other FMP bloggers and they all sound incredible.

I’ve been on the hunt for rhubarb ever since I was unable to make the fish nuggets braised in rhubarb sauce recipe from a few weeks ago. I think about two weeks ago I finally spotted some at the local co-op. I didn’t buy any then, as our farmer’s market was scheduled to open soon. As luck would have it, my mom was able to score me some last Saturday at said farmer’s market.

Before this recipe, I had never made anything with rhubarb before. Even so, I knew that rhubarb and strawberries are a favorite spring combo. Lucky me … I had both. And it just so happens that fruit salsas are my favorite.

20120509-084758.jpg

Strawberry Rhubarb Spring Salsa

1 stalk rhubarb (ends trimmed)
1.5 – 2 cups sliced strawberries that have been macerated in just a little sugar (no more than 1 tablespoon)
1/4 red onion
1/2 leek (just the white part)
1 large clove garlic
1 jalepeno pepper, seeds removed
about 2-3 tablespoons fresh cilantro leaves
juice from 1/4 lime
salt and pepper to taste

Throw all of the ingredients through the cilantro leaves into your food processor and pulse until the salsa reaches your desired consistency. Pour salsa into a larger bowl and add lime juice and salt and pepper. Give the salsa a final stir and serve.

20120509-084806.jpg

I served this salsa on some fish tacos. These fish tacos to be exact. I highly recommend you add this recipe to your dinner rotation in the near future. First of all, it’s a quick one. Second of all it’s delicious! Third, it’s versatile! You could top these fish tacos with whatever you want. I recommend you start with this salsa though: sweet, tart, and just a little spicy. It’s the season in a bowl (or on your taco).

20120509-084741.jpg

 

20120509-084813.jpg

4 responses to “The Food Matters Project: Spring Salsa

  1. Pingback: The Farmer’s Market Haul 6/9/12 | foodandfrederick

  2. Congrats on running the half marathon! Lovely rendition of a fruit salsa.

  3. Oh…those look great!

Leave a Reply

