Roast Beef, Cheddar and a Secret Ingredient

Tomato Bacon JamSo I won’t actually keep it a secret. I made tomato bacon jam. Sweet, sticky, smoky, savory jam. Surprisingly easy, I figured it would make a great condiment for some simple roast beef and cheddar sandwiches. I figured right.

roast beef cheddar sandich side shot

Roast beef sandwich after a few delicious bites

The recipe for tomato bacon jam was pretty consistent across the internet.

1/2 pound bacon, 2 pounds ripe tomatoes cored and chopped, 1 medium yellow onion diced, 1 cup sugar, 2 1/2 tablespoons cider vinegar, 1 1/2 teaspoons salt, 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper.

Cook the bacon however you prefer. I went with the oven this time. 375 degrees Fahrenheit for about 12 minutes (or until crispy). Drain cooked bacon on paper towels and break up into small pieces.

Put the tomatoes, onion, sugar, vinegar, salt and pepper in a deep sauce pan and bring to a boil. Then lower the heat to medium and add the bacon. Give the mixture a stir and allow to simmer on medium-ish heat for about an hour or until very thick.

The recipe I found here said the jam will keep in the refrigerator for 3-4 days or you could also freeze it for up to 2 months.

7 responses to “Roast Beef, Cheddar and a Secret Ingredient

  1. Holy moly. Tomato bacon jam? I’m droooooling!

  2. That jam sounds absolutely perfect! I love the intense flavor of cooked down tomatoes.

  3. Hm so we make tomato preserves, what do you think of cooking that with some savory.bacon?

    • I think that sounds like a fantastic idea! If you try it, please let me know! I definitely want to make more of this in the future, but coring tomatoes every time will probably lose its appeal haha.

  4. I’ll have to try this recipe. I make a non-tomato version that is perfect on hot dogs. http://myhusbandcooks.wordpress.com/2008/11/18/onion-marmalade-sweet-savory-sticky/

Leave a Reply

