still two days from (the weekend)

Oh Wednesdays! I know you usually mean happy hour which helps get me through the day, but you also mean I’m still two days removed from the weekend. Today you are keeping me from the three-day weekend that marks the unofficial start to Summer.

If you can’t tell I am soooo ready for Memorial Day weekend. It’s going to be a little busy, but full of things like wine, Sriracha burgers and good people. Really, I hope all of my Summer weekends contain some similar combination of food, drink and friends.

As I sit here on this Wednesday dreaming of the season to come, I’m also dwelling on the fun of the last few weekends. Thought I’d share a little of the fun.

20120523-101902.jpg

Big beers and baseball in Pittsburgh. Yes I am a proud Orioles fan wearing a Pirates hat (deal with it ;-)). We’re never going to agree during Football season, but we can totally cheer for both cities during baseball season. Boyfriend, totally bought an O’s t-shirt last year.

20120523-100525.jpg

A random celebrity spotting. No this is not a good picture, but that is Mario Batali. He was doing a cooking demo and book signing at a Market District grocery store near Rob’s parents house. We just happened to be there picking up some stuff for Mother’s Day breakfast.

20120523-100656.jpg

A little grilling. (By my Dad on Mother’s Day, but it just got me thinking how much I want a little charcoal grill all my own. Maybe one of those little Weber travel ones haha.)

20120523-101854.jpg

Alfresco Friday happy hours. We went for something new and headed to the Volt patio. Five beers for two of us, a lobster roll and a very fresh and delicate crab dish. I’ll be going back for more of those lobster rolls for sure.

20120523-101244.jpg

A trip to the annual Greek festival put on by Saints Peter and Paul Greek Orthodox Church in Frederick. No long line was going to keep us from gyros and spanakopita. I also tried the Zythos, a custom crafted Greek-style draft beer brewed by Brewer’s Alley for the festival.

One response to “still two days from (the weekend)

  1. Yay for summer! I am so ready for it, especially after reading this post.

Leave a Reply

