The Food Matters Project: Summer Veggies and Seared Scallops

Exciting non-food news, I got my hands on my very own DSLR over the weekend, I’m moving in about two weeks, and there’s that little business I started. It’s nice and busy around these parts! One thing that I’m trying not to let my schedule interfere with, time in the kitchen. This week’s Food Matters recipe selected by Jenn of Vanilla Lemon, made a perfect meal for a Friday night spent on the couch.

Seared Scallops on top of vegetables

I had every intention of making the recipe for Corn-Avocado salad the way it was written, but there was no corn at the grocery store I stopped at. Instead I picked up some green beans and yellow squash. I sauteed them lightly with the red onion and it turned out great. For more delicious versions of this recipe, head over to the Food Matters Project site.

Anyone else experiencing busy Summer syndrome?

4 responses to “The Food Matters Project: Summer Veggies and Seared Scallops

  1. oooh… i wanna know what little business you’re starting, where you’re moving to, and what kind of DSLR camera did you get? i have been dying to buy one, but can’t justify spending that much money just yet. convince me?

    • Hi Margarita! I’m actually only moving about 3 blocks west on the same street I live on right now, just to a house that my boyfriend will also happen to occupy haha. Costco was selling a kit for a Nikon D3100 and it kind of just happened. I’ve taken maybe 25 photos with it but I can already see the difference in photo quality. I can’t wait to get into using it more after the move and I’ll definitely let you know how its going. What kind of camera are you using now? As for the business, I’ve started giving walking food tours in downtown Frederick, MD where I live.

  2. Yay for some exciting changes! Can’t wait to hear more about it. This dish looks delicious, and I definitely agree that time in the kitchen should not be cut! =)

Leave a Reply

