My party foods don’t always match

The boyfriend and I are officially all moved in and we threw a little partaaay to celebrate last weekend. (It was also to force ourselves to get everything put away and organized in a timely manner.)

I can say with 100% honesty that I did not go overboard with the food. I only made two hor d’oeuvres, let Rob handle burgers and brats on the grill and told guests to feel free to contribute to the spread (which they deliciously did). I won’t lie, I’m pretty proud of myself.

These snacks I made though, require mentioning. I know I will be making them again and again. They also did not really compliment each other at all.

The first were Big Girls, Small Kitchen’s Shrimp & Mango Salad filled Wonton Cups. I probably ate at least 4 of these before our guests even arrived. Such a great combination of flavors and texture.

The second were inspired by my lovely friend Christie and a chat we had while enjoying some super dirty martinis that were outfitted with huge blue cheese stuffed olives. The result of this conversation, we needed to try olives stuffed with goat cheese and wrapped in prosciutto. I got a little lazy (tired from all the unpacking and organizing) so instead I tore up the prosciutto and mixed it in with the goat cheese I was stuffing into some pitted green olives. They turned out just as delicious as I’d hoped.

Goat Cheese and Prosciutto Stuffed Olives

30-50 Large Pitted Green Olives
4 ounces goat cheese
3 slices prosciutto torn into smallish pieces
1-2 tablespoons chopped fresh dill
freshly ground black pepper to taste

Mix the goat cheese, prosciutto, dill and some black pepper together in a bowl. Take a small spoon and stuff each of the olives. If you can try to get at least a piece of prosciutto into every olive. Try not to eat all of them.

Party themes are fun and all, but sometimes it’s just nice to make whatever sounds the most appetizing.

Do you always plan party menus around a theme or do you just have a few go-to, tried & true recipes for special occasions?

2 responses to “My party foods don’t always match

  1. Love those wonton cups. I have a filling that is a sausage/ranch combo. Very yummy!

Leave a Reply

