Food Matters Project: Stir-Fried Veggies and Chicken over Rice

Not the most intriguing name for a dish is it? What could possibly be so special about stir-fried veggies and chicken? OK, so this would probably win the award for most boring Food Matters Project dish to date (my particular version, not the actual selected recipe) but like any stir-fry, a good sauce can really make a difference.

This week’s actual recipe of Crisp Rice Cakes with Stir-Fried Vegetables and Chicken was selected by Small Kitchen College. You can check out the original recipe over on their site.

I’m not quite over the vacation brain yet and took a slightly lazier approach to this recipe. I didn’t even bother attempting the rice cakes. I was going to, but one squeeze of my brown rice and quinoa mixture and I knew I just wouldn’t have the patience.

(The above photo is of the other lazy shortcut I took … I am a big fan of these microwavable bags of brown rice and quinoa, and now an even bigger fan of this mix with a little sesame oil mixed in.) (And yes, that’s completely my own opinion ;-))

I did stick to the prescribed veggie combo though and was actually quite blown away by the simple sauce of fish sauce, water and lime juice. I can see that combo elevating many future “kitchen-sink” stir-fry dinners.

I’m sure many of the other FMP bloggers had success with the crisp rice cake aspect of this recipe, be sure to take a look at all of their versions over on the FMP site.

 

3 responses to “Food Matters Project: Stir-Fried Veggies and Chicken over Rice

  1. Same here, we just did a stir fry- nice and easy. It’s still summer, so I’m not into cooking as long.

  2. yes! i love your lazy shortcut. my friend made that for dinner once and i was so surprised when i found out it came from a pack. LOL!

Leave a Reply

