Traveling for Food: Hominy Grill (and homemade shrimp & grits)

Hominy Grill Building Sign

Bourdain ate there, Ray ate there, Richman ate there, so there was no way I wasn’t going to make my way to Hominy Grill while I was in Charleston, SC.

When we arrived we were told it would be about a 20 minute wait, no big deal, there was a beverage window.

Hominy Grill Beverage Window

I went with the one with Cheerwine in it.

Hominy Grill Outside Beverage Window Menu

I don’t even really like gin and I thought this beverage was well worth the price tag. (This and the Mexican coffee Rob ordered came to a few bucks short of $20.)

Our wait was only about 10 minutes and we were seated at a booth in the newer front room of the restaurant. It was a cute, sunny spot. Obviously, I was smitten with the flowers in mason jars on each table.

Flowers in Mason Jars at Hominy Grill

I ordered the Big Nasty Biscuit with fried chicken breast, cheddar cheese and sausage gravy.

Hominy Grill Big Nasty Biscuit

Rob ordered the Huevos Rancheros.

Hominy Grill Huevos Rancheros

His brother (whom we were visiting in Charleston) went with the omelette du jour.

I somehow managed to save one bite of my biscuit to try some of the homemade preserves. I’d suggest making sure you have a whole biscuit devoted specifically to the purpose of eating those preserves.

Taste of Hominy Grill Preserves

I left the restaurant with a copy of the Hominy Grill cookbook (complete with autograph of the James Beard winning chef) and a two-pound bag of grits. None of us ordered shrimp and grits while we were there (we had some the day before) so naturally it was going to need to be one of the first things I made when I got back to my own kitchen.

Food and Frederick Homemade Cheese Grits

Food and Frederick Hominy Grill Shrimp

Shrimp Recipe

Cheesy Grits Recipe

I was a little intimidated, making such a classic recipe for the first time. It was surprisingly easy though (I’m wondering if the quality of my grits had anything to do with that) and the meal received rave reviews from my hungry peeps.

When cooking for other people do you usually stick to recipes you’ve already tried and loved or do you ever get a little adventurous and try to impress with something new?

 

Leave a Reply

