Truffled Sweet Potato Poutine

A few weekends ago I finally added some white truffle oil to my collection and the first thing I wanted to make was sweet potato truffle fries. However I was struck with a bit of inspiration and instead used my craving as the base for a delicious “brinner.” (If you follow me on Instagram, you probably know what’s coming.)

Sweet Potato Truffle Fries

Poutine is a traditionally Canadian dish. It’s french fries served with cheese curds and gravy. I’ve seen breakfast/brunch versions done with the addition of an egg and that served as my jumping off point.

Rob and I love this super easy recipe for pulled pork (we used it to make nine pounds worth for a recent party) and I figured this dish could use a meat since my taste testers included some dudes.

Once all of the ingredients are done, it’s best to set up some sort of assembly line so you can quickly and easily get the fried eggs off the stove while the yolks are still perfectly runny.

Truffled Sweet Potato Poutine (serves 4-6)

Crock pot pulled pork & juices for gravy
2-3 sweet potatoes (yams) cut into french-fry sized pieces. Tutorial here.
Eggs
Olive Oil
Standard Salt & Pepper
Truffle Oil
Truffle Salt
Sweet Potatoes cut up for fries

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Spread out your sweet potato fries on a baking sheet in a single layer (you may need more than one baking sheet for this.)

Drizzle the sweet potato fries in a bit of olive oil and lightly sprinkle with salt and pepper

Place the baking sheet(s) in the oven and roast for about 30 minutes (tossing halfway through) or until the edges of the sweet potato fries are crisp. Some may even get a little dark and that’s OK.

While the potatoes are roasting you can make the gravy.

Gravy reducing on the stove

Once the potatoes, gravy and pork are all prepped. You can begin to cook the eggs.

For these bowls I went with fried eggs over-easy. There’s just something so satisfying about breaking open the yolk.

To assemble each bowl start with a small pile of sweet potato fries and lightly drizzle with truffle oil (very lightly) and sprinkle with a little truffle salt). Next, top the truffled sweet potato fries with pulled pork and gravy and finish with an over-easy egg.

Truffled Sweet Potato Poutine Bowl

It may not be the most photogenic of meals, but for whatever it lacked in beauty it certainly made up for it in taste and savoriness. I also don’t think this bowl would be the same if there weren’t sweet potato fries at the bottom of it.

One response to “Truffled Sweet Potato Poutine

  1. I’ve never been super enthused about regular poutine…but SWEET potato poutine?? Sounds fabulous to me!

Leave a comment